PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP)®

If you’re experienced using agile approaches, have good collaboration skills, eagerly embrace complexity and thrive on rapid response times, then your talents are in demand. 

The PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP)® formally recognizes your knowledge of agile principles and your skill with agile techniques. It will make you shine even brighter to your employers, stakeholders and peers.

The PMI-ACP® is our fastest growing certification, and it’s no wonder. Organizations that are highly agile and responsive to market dynamics complete more of their projects successfully than their slower-moving counterparts — 75 percent versus 56 percent — as shown in our 2015 Pulse of the Profession® report.

The PMI-ACP spans many approaches to agile such as Scrum, Kanban, Lean, extreme programming (XP) and test-driven development (TDD.) So it will increase your versatility, wherever your projects may take you.

Apply for PMI-ACP Certification

Register and log in to get started

Apply Now

Who Should Apply? 

If you work on agile teams or if your organization is adopting agile practices, the PMI-ACP is a good choice for you. Compared with other agile certifications based solely on training and exams, the PMI-ACP is evidence of your real-world, hands-on experience and skill.

Gain and Maintain Your PMI-ACP

  • The certification exam has 120 multiple-choice questions and you have three hours to complete it.
  • To maintain your PMI-ACP, you must earn 30 professional development units (PDUs) in agile topics every three years.


Member: US$435.00
Non-member: US$495.00


  • 2,000 hours of general project experience working on teams. A current PMP® or PgMP® will satisfy this requirement but is not required to apply for the PMI-ACP.
  • 1,500 hours working on agile project teams or with agile methodologies. This requirement is in addition to the 2,000 hours of general project experience.
  • 21 contact hours of training in agile practices.

For complete details on the eligibility requirements, see the PMI-ACP Handbook.

Frequently Asked Questions

Expand All | Collapse All

  • No. Candidates do not have to be a PMI member.

  • No. There is no prerequisite certification for the PMI-ACP as this is a stand alone offering.

  • We encourage you to apply online although you can download a printable application from the website and mail it to PMI.

  • Yes. You need to meet the eligibility requirements for the PMI-ACP. You can also apply the professional development units (PDUs) you earn for the PMI-ACP to maintain the PMP® and PgMP® certifications.

  • None. You only need to submit supporting documentation for your education or work experience if your application is randomly selected for audit.

  • Project team members who use agile principles, practices, tools and techniques in their projects.

  • Same as it is for other PMI certifications. All applications undergo an initial review for the completeness of information submitted about the candidate's education and work experience. Then, the candidate can take the computer-based certification exam at your selected Prometric Testing Center located around the world. Candidates must first pay the certification fee before they can schedule the exam. Upon passing the exam, candidates will earn the PMI-ACP.

  • Not at this time. The PMI-ACP exam is currently available only in English. Translations will be considered at a future date.

  • After you pass the exam, you may immediately use the certification after your name (e.g., John Doe, PMI-ACP) and your name will also appear in the PMI Online Certification Registry if you elect to be included into the registry. You will also receive a package containing your certificate and information on how to maintain your certification.

  • As a certification holder, you participate in the Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) program. Under the CCR program, you are required to participate in professional development activities that afford you professional development units (PDUs).

    You must earn and report a minimum of 30 PDUs during your three-year certification/CCR cycle to maintain an active certification status. The PDUs must be in the specialized area of agile principles, practices, tools and techniques to apply. If you take a general project management class, only the sections that pertain to agile project management count toward the maintenance of the PMI-ACP certification.

    Remember, if you hold the PMP or PgMP certification(s), you may apply the 30 PDUs used for agile project management toward the maintenance of the other two certifications.

    Once you earn and report the required amount of PDUs, you need to complete an Application for Certification Renewal, reaffirm the PMI Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct and the Certification Application/Renewal Agreement and submit payment of the renewal fee.


Publishing or acceptance of an advertisement is neither a guarantee nor endorsement of the advertiser's product or service. View advertising policy.