Boost Your Career

PMI certifications prepare you to excel in any industry worldwide.

You, certified. 

In an increasingly projectized world, PMI professional certification ensures that you’re ready to meet the demands of projects and employers across the globe. 

Developed by practitioners for practitioners, our certifications are based on rigorous standards and ongoing research to meet the real-world needs of organizations. With a PMI certification behind your name, you can work in virtually any industry, anywhere in the world, and with any project management methodology. 

Wherever you are in your career, we have a certification for you.

Learn more about the certification process

Ready to Apply?

Register and log in to get started.

Apply Now

  • PMP® Project Management Professional (PMP)®

    The PMP is the gold standard of project management certification. Recognized and demanded by organizations worldwide, the PMP validates your competence to perform in the role of a project manager, leading and directing projects and teams.

    Learn more
  • PgMP® Program Management Professional (PgMP)®

    Designed for those who manage multiple, complex projects to achieve strategic and organizational results.

    Learn more
  • PfMP® Portfolio Management Professional (PfMP)®

    Our portfolio management certification recognizes the advanced experience and skill of portfolio managers. The PfMP demonstrates your proven ability in the coordinated management of one or more portfolios to achieve organizational objectives.

    Learn more
  • CAPM® Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)®

    The CAPM demonstrates your understanding of the fundamental knowledge, terminology and processes of effective project management.

    Learn more
  • PMI-PBA® PMI Professional in Business Analysis (PMI-PBA)®

    The PMI-PBA highlights your expertise in business analysis. It spotlights your ability to work effectively with stakeholders to define their business requirements, shape the output of projects and drive successful business outcomes.

    Learn more
  • PMI-ACP® PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP)®

    Created for those who believe in and apply agile principles and practices on projects. It requires a combination of training, experience and an exam. It also bridges agile approaches such as SCRUM, XP, LEAN and Kanban.

    Learn more
  • PMI-RMP® PMI Risk Management Professional (PMI-RMP)®

    The PMI-RMP certification recognizes demonstrated knowledge and expertise in the specialized area of assessing and identifying project risks along with plans to mitigate threats and capitalize on opportunities.

    Learn more
  • PMI-SP® PMI Scheduling Professional (PMI-SP)®

    The PMI-SP certification recognizes demonstrated knowledge and advanced experience in the specialized area of developing and maintaining project schedules.

    Learn more

Frequently Asked Questions

Expand All | Collapse All

  • Do I have to be a CAPM, PMP, or a PMI member to apply for other PMI certifications?

    No. No one certification serves as a prerequisite for another. You also do not have to be a PMI member to apply to become a certification holder.

  • How do I earn a PMI certification?

    To obtain a PMI certification you must first meet the eligibility requirements outlined on these web pages and detailed in the certification handbooks. Then you must pass the certification exam. For the PgMP and PfMP, you must pass the application panel review and the exam. 

  • What are the eligibility requirements?

    The eligibility requirements for each certification are mentioned here, on these web pages, and detailed in each respective certification handbook. Please link to the appropriate certification handbook for complete guidelines.

  • How do I complete the application?

    All certification applications are available online. Click the "Apply" button on these web pages. Please note that any missing information on the application will delay processing.

  • What supporting documentation should I send with my application?

    None. You only need to submit supporting documentation for your education or work experience if your application is randomly selected for audit.

  • Once I pass the exam or evaluations, what next?

    You may refer to yourself as a certification holder although your certificate package can take six to eight weeks to arrive in the mail. Please refer to the "Use of Your PMI Certification" section of the handbooks for more details. You also can start making plans for maintaining your certification by familiarizing yourself with the Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) program.

  • What are the Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) for PMI certifications?

    PMP — 60 PDUs during a 3-year cycle 

    PgMP — 60 PDUs during a 3-year cycle

    PfMP — 60 PDUs during 3-year cycle 

    CAPM — renewal through re-exam at the end of a 5-year cycle

    PMI-PBA  60 PDUs during a 3-year cycle

    PMI-ACP — 30 PDUS during a 3-year cycle

    PMI-SP — 30 PDUs in project scheduling in a 3-year cycle 

    PMI-RMP — 30 PDUs in project risk management in a 3-year cycle

  • How can I maintain several certifications at once?

    You can align your PMP and PgMP certification cycles and maintain them simultaneously. You can also apply PDUs earned for the PMI-SP and PMI-RMP to the PgMP or PMP certifications. Refer to the certification handbook for full details.

  • Does this new fee override the existing policy which penalizes me if I cancel my exam within two days of the appointment?

    No. The existing policy still applies. It states that you can cancel your exam within two days of the appointment. However, you will not be able to reschedule it at this point and you will forfeit the entire exam fee. If you are still within your eligibility period, you can schedule another exam appointment but you will have to pay the reexamination fees. 


    To reschedule or cancel your exam:

    • 31 days or more before the exam — No fee
    • Within 30 days to 3 days of exam — US$70 fee
    • Within 2 days of the exam — Forfeit the full exam fee NOTE: You can cancel your exam within 2 days of the appointment but you will not be able to reschedule your exam at this point. If you cancel your exam within 2 days of the appointment, it will result in a no-show status and you will forfeit the exam fee.
  • Is there a purchasing plan for my organization?

    Yes. Find out how to support longer-range strategic objectives by developing leadership and business intelligence competencies within your organization. Learn more about the Organization Membership and Certification Program.


Publishing or acceptance of an advertisement is neither a guarantee nor endorsement of the advertiser's product or service. View advertising policy.