Maintain Certification FAQ


    CCR Program Requirements

    Expand All | Collapse All

    • What requirements do I need to fulfill to maintain an active certification status?

      All PMI certifications, with the exception of CAPM, require that you engage in continuous professional development in order to remain certified.  The requirements for each certification can be found within the CCR Handbook.

    • Why has the PMI Talent Triangle been incorporated into the CCR program?

      Extensive market research and feedback from certification holders and organizations identified a subset of skills which, employers require for project practitioners to deliver improved results. These skills areas are represented in the PMI Talent Triangle. The CCR updates align professional  development activities, specifically Education activities, with the PMI Talent Triangle to ensure  certification holders are focused on the needs of the profession.

    • How are the three areas of focus for the PMI Talent Triangle defined?

      The PMI Talent Triangle outlines the three skill areas employers need. They are as follows:

      Technical Project Management: the knowledge, skills and behaviors related to specific domains of Project, Program and Portfolio Management. The technical aspects of performing one’s role.

      Leadership: the knowledge, skills, and behaviors needed to guide, motivate, and direct a team, to help an organization achieve its business goals.

      Strategic and Business Management: the knowledge of and expertise in the industry and organization that enhances performance and better delivers business outcomes.

    • What are some examples of topics that align to each skill area within the PMI Talent Triangle?

      Many topics can align to each area of the PMI Talent Triangle.  Here are some examples to help you understand.

    • Are the skill areas of the PMI Talent Triangle aligned with activities that Give Back to the Profession?

      No. They are not. You can still earn PDUs for activities that give back to the profession including creating new project management knowledge, volunteering, and working as a professional in project management. Volunteer activities should reflect your use of practitioner knowledge and skills (i.e., planning the project for a charity).

    • How will certification holders be transitioned to the new CCR program?

      To facilitate the process of transitioning to this updated program, there will be different renewal requirements during this initial migration period based on your certification cycle expiration date. See the table below for more details.

      1 December 2015 – 30 November 2017

      • Classify PDUs according to new CCR format.

      1 December 2017 and Beyond

      • Classify PDUs according to new CCR format.
      • Meet minimum number of PDUs in Education category and each of the three skill areas. This is required for renewal.
      • Limit Giving Back category PDUs to new maximum requirement.
    • How can I maintain several credentials at once?

      The CCR process enables certain PDUs to be shared across your certifications, simplifying the  maintenance process.  To learn more please refer to the “Maintaining Multiple Certifications” section of the CCR Handbook  and/or watch this webinar.

    All About PDUs

    Expand All | Collapse All

    • What are PDUs?

      PDUs stand for Professional Development Units.  PDUs are the measuring unit used to quantify your professional development as part of the Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) program.  1 PDU = 1 hour of learning/activity.

    • Can I still earn Education PDUs the same way I used to?

      Yes. You can earn your Education PDUs by attending classes offered by PMI R.E.P.s, Chapters or by your organizations or a university; attending a PMI congress, SeminarsWorld® and other events, or through self-directed learning.

    • Can I claim PDUs for a single Education activity in more than one skill area of the PMI Talent Triangle?

      Yes. You can claim PDUs for a single Education activity under multiple skill areas (Technical Project Management, Leadership, Strategic and Business Management) of the PMI Talent Triangle. For example: if you read a book that contains content on techniques for project time management and on negotiating with stakeholders, you could claim this Education activity in the skill areas of Technical Project Management and Leadership.

    • Can I transfer PDUs to my next cycle?

      Yes. Any PDUs earned above the required total (e.g. 60 for PMP) in the last year of your 3-year certification cycle can be applied to your next cycle. PDUs earned during the first two years of your cycle cannot be applied to a future cycle.

    • When is the earliest I can start earning PDUs after I earn a certification?

      You can start earning and reporting PDU activities as soon as you earn a PMI certification. Activities you completed prior to earning your certification will not count as PDUs towards your newly acquired certification.

    • When reporting PDU activities, is any supporting documentation required?

      You do not need supporting documentation to report PDUs and renew your credential. When reporting your PDUs through CCRS, you will be directed to include specific information about the activity in the PDU claim form.

      NOTE: PMI recommends you maintain a personal folder for all PDU-related documentation and keep this documentation for at least 18 months after your CCR cycle has ended. If you are randomly selected for an audit, you will need to provide this documentation.

    Online PDU Reporting (CCR) System

    Expand All | Collapse All

    • Do I need a special username or password to use CCRS?

      No. You will use the same username and password that you use to access CCRS uses PMI single sign-on technology, which enables you to log in only once to gain access to all PMI systems and resources. Single sign-on saves time and prevents the need to remember a separate username and password to access CCRS.

    • Where do I find detailed instructions for using the CCR System?

      CCRS features a comprehensive online user guide.  You can find the user guide in the Handbooks and Guides section of CCRS.

    Certification Suspension

    Expand All | Collapse All

    • Can I get an extension beyond the suspension expiration date?

      PMI recognizes that hardships may arise. Certification holders who are military personnel called to active duty, incapacitated due to illness or out on maternity leave can request an extension.

    • I have retired from the project management profession. How do I end my certification?

      Please send a written request to the PMI certification department. Your certification will then be marked non-active.  PMP certification holders with 10 years of good certification standing may qualify for the PMP-Retired status.

    • Can I complete PDUs during my suspension period and apply them to my recent CCR cycle?

      If you complete required PDUs during the suspension period to meet your CCR, you will be able to renew your certification. However, if you can document the necessary PDUs from the original CCR cycle, you can use PDUs earned during your suspension period as activities toward the cycle in which these PDUs were actually earned.


    Publishing or acceptance of an advertisement is neither a guarantee nor endorsement of the advertiser's product or service. View advertising policy.