Maintain Certification

Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) Program

Your career is a journey, and you’ll need to stay relevant as the profession evolves and as the needs of employers grow and change. Maintaining your PMI certification is a significant competitive advantage. It keeps you relevant and helps you better position yourself as the answer to what companies demand.

Recently we’ve updated the program to include more emphasis on employer-demanded skills as outlined in the PMI Talent TriangleTM. This provides the guidance you need to stay relevant and competitive in the profession. 

Hear why this is important to practitioners.

To stay certified, you’ll need to participate in professional development activities, and earn and report professional development units (PDUs.) There are lots of ways to earn PDUs and nearly unlimited opportunities.

Discover ways to earn PDUs or report earned PDUs.

Certification-Specific Requirements

Every certification except the CAPM® requires you to earn a specific amount of PDUs per three-year certification cycle. The requirements differ for each certification, so check the handbook to find out more. For the Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)®, you’ll need to retake the exam before the end of your five-year certification cycle

Report PDUs

Visit our online Continuing Certification Renewal System (CCRS) to report PDUs and view your certification records.

Visit CCRS

Have questions about maintaining your certifications?

Read Frequently Asked Questions about PDUs, the CCR program, and more.

3-year cycles
60 PDUs per cycle

Project Management Professional

Portfolio Management Professional

Program Management Professional

PMI Professional in Business Analysis

3-year cycles
30 PDUs per cycle

PMI Agile Certified Practitioner

PMI Scheduling Professional

PMI Risk Management Professional


Publishing or acceptance of an advertisement is neither a guarantee nor endorsement of the advertiser's product or service. View advertising policy.