Maintaining the CAPM® Just Got Easier….

You No Longer Have to Retake the Exam

All current and future Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)® certification holders will no longer have to retake the three-hour exam every five years to retain the certification. Moving forward, CAPM® certification holders will have to earn 15 professional development units (PDUs) over three years and pay a renewal fee US$60 member/US$150 non-member.

If you were certified before 1 October, your expiration date will not change. Thereafter, you need to maintain your CAPM certification every three years to keep it active.

Earning PDUs allows CAPM certification holders to remain relevant and current on new developments and trends in project management and proves the individual knows the fundamentals of project management.

Specific PDU Requirements

The 15 PDUs can be further broken down as follows:

  • Minimum of 9 Education PDUs
  • Maximum of 6 Giving Back PDUs

Education PDUs for all 15 required PDUs can meet the requirement, however a minimum of 2 PDUs for each Education-related skill: Technical, Leadership, and Business is needed then you can complete electives to earn the remainder of their Education PDUs. For CAPM holders who want to pursue Giving Back PDUs, can earn a maximum of 2 PDUs for working as a professional (not required), and up to 6 PDUs for volunteering or creating content.

Want to know more about two types of PDUs that you can claim towards renewal — Education and Giving Back? Learn how to earn PDUs.

And, if you have other PMI certifications, any PDUs earned can be applied to the PDU requirements for the CAPM certification

If you have any questions, please review FAQs and email [email protected] for renewal questions only. For all other issues, please contact Customer Care.

Are you an Active or Expired CAPM?

Log-in to myPMI to view a limited-time renewal offer on this page.


The renewal offer is only valid for the CAPM certification holders who were certified before 1 October 2020.