PMI David I. Cleland Project Management Literature Award

The PMI David I. Cleland Project Management Literature Award recognizes the author(s) of a published book that significantly advances project management knowledge, concepts, and practice.

Dr. Cleland has contributed to PMI in countless ways, including moderating the PMI Body of Knowledge Workshop in 1985, finalizing the development of the PMI Student Paper Award Program, and attending and presenting at almost all PMI Seminars & Symposia since 1972. He is an author and editor of over 44 books and articles published in many technology, management, and educational journals and periodicals.

Submission Deadline

The call for nominations for the 2019 PMI Research and Academic Awards is now closed. The 2020 nomination cycle will open in late 2019.

Guidelines and Nomination Procedures


  • The nominated book must have been published in English during the previous calendar year in a field relevant to project management.
  • The book may come from academic or practitioner literature.
  • The author(s) of the nominated book need not be a PMI member.

Not Eligible

  • Sitting members of PMI’s Board of Directors are ineligible. In addition, they may not participate in the nomination or evaluation process.
  • Current sitting members of PMI’s Academic Member Advisory Group are ineligible to receive this award during their tenure on the AMAG.
  • A book authored or co-authored by current PMI staff.
  • A book authored by a PMI consultant, the content of which is based on the contracted work/activity.
  • Edited books are not eligible for the award.
  • Standards of accrediting bodies, including those of PMI.
  • Individuals or organizations that have failed to comply with PMI policies and procedures, including but not limited to PMI's Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct.

Number of Awards

  • Only one David I. Cleland Project Management Literature Award will be given annually.
  • In the case of a co-authored book, each author will be recognized.
  • PMI reserves the right not to select a recipient for a particular year.


Criterion 1: The nominated book sheds new light or reflects innovative thinking in a field relevant to project management.

Criterion 2: The book creates the potential to impact practice. The impact ranges from direct application to policy and/or practice to influencing perspectives.

Criterion 3: The argument, line of reasoning or analysis is sound and effectively presented.

Role of the Nominator

  • The book must be nominated by one or more persons, one of whom must be a current PMI member in good standing or by a publisher.
  • When more than one person is making the nomination, a Lead Nominator must be designated who:
    • Ensures all nominators sign the nomination letter.
    • Assembles and submits the nomination.

Nomination Procedures and Content

  • 10 hard copies of the nominated book must be sent to Heather Ramsey, Manager, Academic Programs. Contact for shipping address.
  • The nomination must contain the following:
    • A nomination letter that describes how the work meets the criteria listed above (no more than 2 pages), that is dated and signed by the nominator(s).
    • A single title page of no more than 1 page that identifies all materials accompanying the nomination including:
      • Author(s) name, title of the published book, publication date, publisher, and ISBN number(s).
      • Postal address, telephone number and email of the nominator(s)
  • Nomination materials will not be reviewed if:
    • Written in a language other than English.
    • Nomination Package is incomplete.
    • Received after the 1 March submission deadline.
  • Nominations are to be submitted at by 1 March.

Verification and Selection

PMI Academic Programs will:

  • Verify the nomination's eligibility and that all required materials have been submitted.
  • Confirm receipt and eligibility of the nomination
  • Administer the review process and notify the nominator of the result.
  • Distribute and collect required paperwork, including PMI release and permissions forms, from the selected nominee.

Nominations are reviewed and scored by a peer review panel. The evaluation process is proprietary to PMI.

Presentation of the Award

  • The PMI David I. Cleland Project Management Literature Award will be presented at a designated project management event.
  • The award recipient will be publicized though PMI communication channels and external media after the presentation of the award. A recipient may also coordinate additional publicity with PMI after the presentation of the award.

Additional Information

  • PMI will not reimburse any expense for assembling the nomination or presentation materials.
  • PMI reserves the right within its sole discretion, and at any time up to the time of the presentation of the award, to determine that a nomination is or has become ineligible for the award. In any such case, PMI will notify the lead nominator and the author(s) of its decision as soon as possible prior to the award presentation.
  • Please send all inquiries to Cristina Olaru, Academic Programs Specialist, at

Past Recipients of this Award

View Previous winners of this Award

PMI Award FAQs

View the Frequently Asked Questions to learn more about the PMI Professional Awards.


Publishing or acceptance of an advertisement is neither a guarantee nor endorsement of the advertiser's product or service. View advertising policy.