Project Management Institute

PMI Linn Stuckenbruck Teaching Excellence Award

The PMI Linn Stuckenbruck Teaching Excellence Award recognizes and honors an individual faculty member for excellence in teaching project management, and for their strong commitment to improving and enhancing project management curricula in higher education.

Dr. Stuckenbruck served as Secretary on the PMI Board of Directors and received the Distinguished Service Award in 1980. He contributed to management and technical journals, wrote chapters for five published books, and presented papers at many professional society meetings. He also authored books and handbooks, including The Implementation of Project Management: The Professional's Handbook. He also prepared the Index of PMI Papers as published in the Proceedings of the Annual PMI Seminars/Symposia and in the Project Management Journal® 1969-84.

Submission Deadline

The call for nominations is open now through 31 May 2021.


Guidelines and Nomination Procedures


  • The nominee may hold any faculty rank in an accredited university or be adjunct faculty.
  • The nominee must be or have been an instructor in credit-bearing courses, primarily focused on projects or project management.
  • The nominee may teach either at the undergraduate or graduate level.
  • The nominee is not required to be a PMI member.

Not Eligible

  • Sitting members of PMI’s Board of Directors may not participate in the nomination or evaluation process and are ineligible to receive this award.
  • Current sitting members of PMI’s Academic Member Insight Team are ineligible to receive this award during their tenure on the AIT.
  • Current PMI staff and consultants.
  • Individuals who have failed to comply with PMI policies and procedures, including but not limited to PMI's Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct, will not be considered.

Number of Awards

  • Only one PMI Linn Stuckenbruck Teaching Excellence Award will be granted annually.
  • PMI reserves the right not to select a recipient for a particular year.


Criterion 1: The nominee has demonstrated successful innovation in curriculum development.
Criterion 2: The nominee has demonstrated excellence in teaching.

Role of the Nominator

  • The nominee must be nominated by one or more persons, one of whom must be a current PMI member in good standing.
  • When more than one person supports the nomination, a Lead Nominator must be designated who assembles and submits the nomination.

Nomination Procedures and Content

The nomination must contain the following:

  • A Curriculum Vitae (not to exceed 10 pages) focused on the nominee’s teaching, educational leadership, achievements and other contributions to teaching and learning, as distinct from a standard CV pertaining to the nominee’s field of expertise.
  • An outline of the nominee’s experience teaching project management, including the level of students and the names of relevant project or project management courses taught.
  • A statement of the nominee’s teaching philosophy and the level of student engagement with examples.
  • A summary of teaching evaluations over a minimum of three consecutive years.
  • Letters of support (1 page maximum each) that provide evidence of the success of the candidate's teaching, and specific examples of why the nominee should be considered. There should be a minimum of 3 supporting letters. One letter of recommendation must come from the department chair or program director of the division in which the nominee teaches or the dean of the college. All letters should be signed and dated.
  • Optional additional evidence of meeting the criteria such as curriculum, video, etc.
  • Nominations will not be reviewed if:
    • Written in a language other than English
    • Nomination Package is incomplete
    • Received after the 31 May submission deadline
  • Nominations are to be submitted at by 31 May.

Verification and Selection

PMI Academic Programs will:

  • Verify the nominee’s eligibility and that all required materials have been submitted.
  • Confirm receipt and eligibility of the nomination.
  • Administer the review process and notify the nominator of the result.
  • Distribute and collect required paperwork, including PMI release and permissions forms, from the selected nominee.

Nominations are reviewed and scored by a peer review panel. The evaluation process is proprietary to PMI.

Presentation of the Award

  • The PMI Linn Stuckenbruck Teaching Excellence Award will be presented at a designated project management conference.
  • The award recipient will be publicized through PMI communication channels and external media after the presentation of the award. The recipient may also coordinate additional publicity with PMI after the presentation of the award.

Additional Information

  • PMI will not reimburse any expense for assembling the nomination or presentation materials.
  • PMI reserves the right within its sole discretion, and at any time up to the time of the presentation of the award, to determine that a candidate is orhas become ineligible for the award. In any such case, PMI will notify the lead nominator and the candidate of its decision as soon as possible prior to the award presentation.
  • Please send all inquiries to Jill Liebling at [email protected] or Michele Raymond at [email protected].


Past Recipients of this Award

PMI Award FAQs

View the Frequently Asked Questions to learn more about the PMI Professional Awards.