What are PDUs?

Professional Development Units (PDUs) are one-hour blocks of time that you spend learning, teaching others, or volunteering. By accumulating and tracking these over your certification cycle you can maintain your certification status with PMI.

Our certifications have different requirements based on the number of PDUs for maintenance. Project Management Professional (PMP)®, Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)®, PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP)®PMI Professional in Business Analysis (PMI-PBA)®Program Management Professional (PgMP)®, Portfolio Management Professional (PfMP)®, PMI Risk Management Professional (PMI-RMP)® and PMI Scheduling Professional (PMI-SP)® are either on a 3-year renewal cycle or a 1-year renewal cycle (for Disciplined Agile certifications).

PDUs are broken into two categories - Education and Giving Back to the Profession.

  • Education PDUs can be earned at professional seminars, webinars, classes, or even self-directed learning.
  • Giving Back PDUs are for time spent volunteering, mentoring, working with professional groups, and more.

In our changing world, project professionals must be more nimble and resourceful than ever to keep pace and create impact.

PMI has always been committed to empowering project professionals to develop a robust set of skills, but project professionals now need a skillset inclusive of different disciplines and practices, as well as other in-demand skills.

New Talent Triangle

To help project professionals navigate this changing world of work and embrace smarter ways of working, we’ve updated the sides of the PMI Talent Triangle to now focus on: Ways of Working (formerly Technical project management), Power Skills (formerly Leadership), and Business Acumen (formerly Strategic and Business Management).

Get ready to learn

If you haven’t already, get up to date on the PDU requirements for your certification. Then, check out the wide variety of ways you can earn PDUs. Want some advice on planning your development to the Talent Triangle? Or maybe you’ve already earned PDUs and need to get them logged into the Continuing Certification Requirements System.

Have the CAPM®?

Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)® certification holders are now required to earn professional development units (PDUs) to maintain their certification every three years. Find out how many PDUs are needed.

Report PDUs

Visit our online Continuing Certification Renewal System (CCRS) to report PDUs and view your certification records.

Visit CCRS


Have questions?

Check out Frequently Asked Questions for more information about maintaining your certification.

Get the details

Download the CCR Handbook. It gives you all the details on CCR, PDUs, how they apply to each certification and how to log them in our system.