How Do I Renew My Certification?

Renewal is easy when you follow these steps

Whether you’ve just earned your certification—or have been a certification holder for years—the steps are the same.

  1. Earn the required amount of Professional Development Units (PDUs) to meet the Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) for your certification. 
    For example: To renew your Project Management Professional (PMP)® certification, you’ll need to earn 60 PDUs per 3-year cycle. Visit the Requirements page for more information.
  2. Enter your PDUs in the online CCR system (CCRS).
  3. Pay the renewal fee. You’ll receive information on how to pay when it is time for you to renew your certification.
  4. Once you’ve renewed, take a break before you start planning for your next 3-year renewal cycle.

PMP Continuing Education Requirements

Learn how to obtain and log your 60 PDU hours to complete your continuing education for your PMP® Certification.

Continuing Certification Requirements PDF Cover

Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) Handbook

Download PDF

Important things to remember

  • Once you submit payment—even if you submit it before your certification expires—your new cycle end date will be three years from your current certification expiration date. 
    • For example: Your certification renewal date is 1 July 2019. You renew on 1 March 2019. Your certification renewal date will be 1 July 2022 (three years from the original renewal date).

Have the CAPM®?

Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)® certification holders are now required to earn professional development units (PDUs) to maintain their certification every three years. Find out how many PDUs are needed.

Report PDUs

Visit our online Continuing Certification Renewal System (CCRS) to report PDUs and view your certification records.

Visit CCRS


Have questions?

Check out Frequently Asked Questions for more information about maintaining your certification.

Get the details

Download the CCR Handbook. It gives you all the details on CCR, PDUs, how they apply to each certification and how to log them in our system.