Project Management Institute


  • The “Call for Nominations” begins 1 November each year.
  • Visit Awards for more information.
  • Start the process early.
  • Designate an award team with a lead nominator who gathers all necessary information, completes the paperwork and submits it on time, and acts as a liaison between PMI and the team.
  • Review the application package carefully. If possible, request a person not connected with the submission review it for criteria and compliance.
  • Justify in the submission why you think your submission should receive the award.
  • Contact with questions as early as possible.

Eligibility varies from award to award. Some awards require PMI membership, others do not. Please review each award description for details.

The purpose, eligibility, criteria and nomination procedures for each award appear here. Information also is available by contacting

All applicants and/or nominees for PMI Professional Awards must sign and return the completed PMI Professional Awards Program Permissions and Release Document and include it with their nomination package.

If you have additional questions about this form, contact

There is no application fee to apply for any of the PMI KPC Award category.

Evaluators vary by award. All evaluators are PMI volunteers who are experienced practitioners who have successfully demonstrated project management expertise. Many volunteer evaluator positions are posted in January through PMI’s Volunteer Relationship Management System (VRMS).

Most awards are announced at the PMI Global Congress-North America in the fourth quarter. PMO of the Year Award is announced at PMO Symposium in the fourth quarter.

The program is administered by PMI's Public Relations Department.

Contact PMI at or visit Awards for more information.

Looking for a different PMI Professional Award than the ones listed?

The PMI Continuing Professional Education Product of the Year Award and PMI Continuing Professional Education Provider of the Year Award were retired at the end of 2017. is up-to-date with the list of professional awards that are currently offered.